A Response to “Make America Great Again”

*Let me start by saying that this isn’t a political post, so please keep reading.

Make America Great Again. A phrase that has been one of the most polarizing phrase maybe to ever be spoken in the United States. It is a phrase that has divided people while bringing others together. It is a phrase that got a man elected to the office of the Presidency. It is a phrase that some people I know are disgusted by and want nothing to do with because of the connotations it has in their walk of life.

But this is a phrase that I have wrestled hard with. It is a phrase that I have turned over and over in my mind before I decided that I needed to put my thoughts on paper (or well a screen, that is my laptop). It is a phrase that got reignited in my head last night after listening to Jimmy Kimmel host the Oscars.

So my thoughts are as follows:

Making America Great Again won’t start with a President, Congress, the Supreme Court, or any famous people in Hollywood. (I know what you are thinking, wait what did he just say?) Hear me out please, I don’t think that is how America will be made great again. I believe that America will be made great again when we as a society begin to start loving people. And I don’t mean fake loving people. I mean real love, sticking with people even when they fail, embracing their faults, and loving them all the more.  What if we begin to start showing people that they matter to us no matter what profession they are in? What if we sit down with people and have real conversations with people that we disagree with rather than just bash them on social media with? America would start to change. The world would start to change because they would see us loving with all that we have.

What if we chose everyday that we were going to treat people better than we wanted to be treated? I promise you if everyone began to treat people with more love, respect, and care than we wanted that this world would begin to change. What if people felt supported in all aspects of life? Most importantly what if people felt like they were heard and their feelings were respected?

If we all began to treat others better than we wanted, prayed for those who are hurting, did life with people while respecting their views, and loved them unconditionally, I believe that the world would begin to change. I believe that America would be great again. Making America great again starts with loving all people even the ones you disagree with. Martin Luther King Jr. once said “I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear.” I agree with MLK, I’m sticking with Love because hate is too much for this heart to bear. I encourage you to do the same.

mlk-love

If you want to Make America Great Again start loving people. Start caring for people. Start treating people with jobs that you believe are lower than yours like equals or better. Start going the extra mile for other people. Give out hugs and encouraging words like candy. We can Make America Great Again but it starts with us. A President cannot by themselves make this country great again. Its gotta be the love that does that and that is on us.

You can start today. Being a good person who loves people does not cost you a penny, it is free. Love someone that is hard to love. Care for someone that needs an ear to hear them out. Treat the trash person like they are royalty. Hug your administrative assistant and thank them for all that they do to make your job easier. Take the people who work under you out for lunch just because you appreciate them. Be kind to those who have fallen on hard times. Because we can make a change in this country and in the world but that change starts with you and me.

Now is the time, wherever you are is the place. Go and Change the world

Thad Ernst

Like the Blog? Hate the Blog? Let me know how you feel.

 

3 comments

  1. Patti Mullin · February 28

    ❤ Thank You ❤

    Like

  2. Steve Smith · March 1

    Bravo. Oncore…oncore!

    Like

  3. Dale DeCamp · May 21

    YES!

    Like

Leave a Reply

