It’s okay to just be OK

So many times I will be talking to a friend and ask them the simple question of “How are you?” Sometimes I know they are going through things. Sometimes I don’t but this is a question that I ask often. Most people say good even I say I am good some of the time. People expect that others will say that “I am good.” Most of the time I am doing well and feeling blessed. But sometimes I am not good, nor am I in a bad spot. I am just in a spot of OK or alright.

Last week I found myself in one of those spots. I was just OK. The week prior my heart had been through a lot. *If you would like to read more about what all I went through the week prior check my last blog post out here. People who I knew cared a lot about me reached out to me and asked “How are you?” They usually expect me to say that I am doing well and they knew what had happened so some may have expected for me to say that I wasn’t doing very good. But I was doing OK. I was in that middle zone where people sometimes do not know how to respond to someone asking about how they are doing.

But in the past 10 days or so I have really learned that it is okay to just be OK. But don’t let the conversation just end there. Ask them why are they just okay and be ready to listen. Some people just need to have someone listen from an outsiders perspective. But some people are too afraid to show that they don’t have their life together. Who has been feeding us this? Why as a society do we feel like we have to have it all together? It is okay to show that you are a human that hurts and bleeds. It is okay to say that you are just OK. You don’t have to always have a good day. There will be plenty of days that are tough. Whether it is the loss of a loved one or a day that the boss overloads you with work. You will have rough days. You also will have average, boring, just OK days too.

Rest in the OK days because everyday will not be sunshine and rainbows nor will they feel like the world is drowning you. The OK days will come. But I challenge you to find something good out of those days. Let those days where you just feel OK teach you something. Do not just go through them feeling down because you aren’t doing good. But look at those days and seek God wholeheartedly on those days. Do not give up because you did not feel God or experience Him. In Galatians 6:9 it says “And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.” 

I hope that encourages you to be okay in being OK. If we seek him we will find him even on the days that are just alright. You don’t have to be doing well. But please don’t always doing terribly. If you are in that place then please let someone know. But it really is alright to just be alright.

Like the blog? Hate the blog? Let me know.

Thad Ernst

2 comments

  1. jernst56 · September 9, 2015

    My response is I am well. Everything is not always good., but I am willing to listen. When I quit feeling sorry for myself,I know God will use my issues and problems to help someone else.

    Like

  2. Vera Janzen · September 9, 2015

    Enjoy reading your blog very much, alway learn something and receive a blessing from reading it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

