Wait. It will be worth it.

There has been a song that has been on my heart for the past few weeks. It is a song that is called “Even So Come” by Kristian Stanfill. This song came up on the Discover Weekly on my spotify a few weeks back and since then I have just been singing it constantly. If you have not heard the song here is a link to it so that you can give it a listen, Even So Come.

This song speaks of a time of waiting. It speaks of being expectant of God and the miracles that come with him. Now I have never been wonderful about having patience. I was born in the United States and I live in an age of if I want something I can just about get it whenever I want. I live in an era of McDonald’s being open 24-7 and the good Lord knows that I love a 20 piece nugget at 1 AM somedays. But God has been teaching me to be patient and wait over the past few years.

If you don’t know my story which most of you may not. Here is the short version. My brother left my life when I was in the 8th grade. It was hard and I dealt with a lot of growing up and challenges in the coming years. he was not a part of my life again until January 2015. I went through high school with no big brother. I went through almost 90% of college without a brother. Until one day in January I found him on Google+. I added him and a few days later he messaged me.

Then things started to fall into place and in February I was able to go up to Denver and get to hang out with my brother again. In March he told me that he would be at my college graduation. As I hung up the phone with him I began to cry. Not tears of sadness but tears of a prayer answered. For four years of college, there was one prayer that I prayed consistently. “God, please let Matt come home and attend my graduation.” That was my constant and never changing prayer during my time in undergrad.

In all of that God taught and molded me into the person that I am today. God used that time to teach me to not quit and to wait even when all hope seems lost. And I was in a spot that all almost seemed lost. I was about to quit and give up but God lead me to a verse while I was reading Romans.

“Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.”-Romans 12:12

It was crazy that I read this just weeks before Matt came back into contact with me. But in all of this Jesus taught me waiting is the best and only way. This song says “Like a Bride waiting for her groom, We’ll be a church ready for you.” I wasn’t ready for him. I was ready to just stop praying that prayer. But God waited on me till I was ready to give up hope so that he would get the most glory.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

What a way to be reminded that God will get his glory one way or another. We need to just be ready and be expectant and saying “Even So Come, Lord Jesus, Come.”

So whatever you are going through, whether it is easy or difficult. My prayer is that you would have expectancy in your heart and don’t lose heart but even in the darkest of times that you would know that the night is darkest before the dawn. Keep praying, keep pressing into Jesus and He will show up.

Thad Ernst

2 comments

  1. Vera Janzen · August 12, 2015

    Thad,what a great blog,always look forward to getting them.Love you and God bless you in your minsters there

    Like

  2. jernst56 · August 12, 2015

    Good words, Thad. Remember that someone is always watching you. And you might be the only Jesus that they see.

    Like

Leave a Reply

